Should I tell my students about my syndrome?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by riverdance85, Apr 22, 2013.

1. riverdance85

riverdance85 Rookie

Apr 22, 2013

I am a male Spanish teacher. I have been teaching since the middle of last school year and never had a student mock the way I look, until now.

I have goldenhar syndrome, which has affected almost everything in my body. Most noticeably my neck, which has limited movement and looks short. I also have scoliosis and I wear an in-the-canal hearing aid (which is so concealed, they haven't found out I have one in my ear).

Students today began mocking my neck, which I always hated as a kid. I told them to stop and they did. Apart from teaching them to respect, should I tell them about my syndrome or keep it a secret like I've been doing? It is a life threatening condition and the kids do not know I have it.

Thanks ahead of time,

Riverdance85

3. EdEd

EdEd Aficionado

Apr 22, 2013

I probably would. I don't think you have to, nor should students need a reason to respect you. You are a teacher, and that's enough. Still, for the sake of building relationships I think it might be helpful.

4. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Apr 22, 2013

It really is your choice on whether to tell the students or not. If you do decide to tell your students, I would talk with your administration (make sure they know about your condition and are aware that you are telling the students). I would also draft a letter to the parents as many students will go home and inform mom and dad. I would rather the information come from me and not the students.

5. lucybelle

lucybelle Connoisseur

Apr 22, 2013