Should I switch grades?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by myKroom, May 22, 2015.

1. myKroom

myKroom Habitué

May 22, 2015

Please read and give me your thoughts on what I should do!

I've been teaching 9 years. Most of that time was as a kindergarten teacher, which I absolutely LOVED! During that time I completed my degree to become a principal. I decided that to be an effective leader I needed to branch out of kindergarten to gain more experience and a broader perspective of the elementary school. This past year I took a new job as an at-risk/Title 1 teacher in a new district.

Let's just say that I'm not a big fan of my job or my district (leadership in particular). I'm regretting the switch in both job and district. Some of it is accepting the move and being a "new" teacher again. I know I felt this way the last time I switched jobs/district. I'm hoping that getting another year under my belt will help me enjoy the job more. I do WANT to love this job.

Now I'm faced with a decision. We are a quickly growing district and have many jobs opening. I just found out yesterday that there is both a K and 1st grade position open for next year. I'm so tempted to jump back into a classroom, but I'm not sure it is what is best for my future goals.

I need some opinions...PLEASE!

3. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

May 22, 2015

I think being well-rounded and having a variety of experiences on your resumer is important, especially if you are hoping to be an administrator. With that said, I think people can see right through someone who is making a change only to improve their own resume and not because it's a change to something they are really passionate about.

4. comaba

comaba Cohort

May 23, 2015

I don't see anything wrong with making a change to improve your resume or to expand your experience.