Should I stay or should I go?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by minnie, Jan 11, 2015.

1. minnie

minnie Cohort

Jan 11, 2015

I am a kindergarten teacher and have been for the past nine years. I feel pretty confident about my ability to teach kindergartners. I know our curriculum and the kindergarten common core standards inside and out. I have ironed out the kinks and I now know what works and doesn't work (for the most part. I know as teachers, we are always learning). I am very comfortable and content of where I am. However, there are times where I would love for all of my students to come to school on the first day knowing how to write their name, how to line up and to be able to tell the difference between the letter A and the number 1. It would be nice for my students to come in having some background knowledge of being at a public elementary school (we don't have TK).

Now that I have told you all that, there is a chance I may be offered to teach the 1st/2nd grade combo class here at our school. The superintendent asked if I would like to have the position when the current teacher retires which is still 2 1/2 years away. I know that is a long ways away, but I'm not sure if I should do it or stay. The current teacher is amazing and I would have VERY big shoes to fill if I did go. I know that all grades are important, but the reading in 1st and 2nd grade is imperative to the rest of their education and I am so scared that I'll screw up. :unsure: Plus, it is two grade levels I will be teaching and I will have an aide. I am so used to not having an aide and that would be an adjustment. It is just so much more than what I am doing now. I'm scared that if I move to first and second, I will be very overwhelmed and I will regret my decision to go.