Should I Share with my 8th graders....?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by historyteacher09, Jan 25, 2017.

1. historyteacher09

historyteacher09 Rookie

Jan 25, 2017

I am a new 8th grade teacher in a great district, with great kids! I love my job and truly love my students.

Every Friday I do something called "Feel Good Friday". I find a news/sports inspirational story clip to show at the start of class. I use it as a conversation starter and to get to know more about my 8th graders lives. I also sometimes use it as a writing prompt with questions like- who is a role model that has impacted your life?, what challenges have you faced and how did you overcome those challenges? ect...

Well, I tried to share how school was a challenge for me when I was their age and really until/ through college. It was true and I feel like it related to my students... however, I have some more real stuff I could share with them but I am not sure if I should. My dad passed away in a car accident when I was 15 years old. It impacted my life greatly because my dad and I were very close. I would obviously share the positives I have found in that. I would make sure to highlight the good that has come from a bad situation.

Is this something that is too much to share with them on one of my Feel Good Fridays? Is it sharing too much? I would do it because I truly have a deep desire to relate to my students and let them know they can come to me with anything.

Obadiah likes this.
  3. MissCeliaB

MissCeliaB Aficionado

Jan 25, 2017

That's a little deep for a "Feel Good Friday" in 8th grade, I think. Maybe if authentically it came up in conversation, and a student asks about your parents or something, then I would answer. I'd focus the "Feel Good Friday" more on the kids and less on you.

4. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Jan 25, 2017

Yeah, agreed. Keep your private details private.

5. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Jan 25, 2017