Should I read a chapter book aloud?

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by meglucy, May 8, 2011.

1. meglucy

meglucy Companion

May 8, 2011

Hi, folks.
    This is my first year teaching kindergarten. I'm looking ahead at these final five weeks of school and would love to read aloud a chapter book to the class, tackling a bit each day.
    I'm leaning toward Charlotte's Web since I read that aloud to my daughter when she was 4 and she loved it. And I love it too.
    What do you think? Can kindergartners handle a chapter book with few pictures? I was thinking I'd photocopy and blow up the drawings that are in the book, I'd have students color them, I'd choose the best version of each picture, and then I'd place them on a music stand next to me as I read (flipping to the next one as I go). I'd mount them on black construction paper (like a frame) beforehand. Does that make sense?

Am I crazy to consider this?
    Thanks.

3. MissCeliaB

MissCeliaB Aficionado

May 8, 2011

A chapter book is a good idea, but Charlotte's Web may be too long. It's also typically read in second grade here. Start with a short book with short chapters and if that goes well work your way up to a longer book.

4. cutNglue

cutNglue Magnifico

May 8, 2011

Someone recommended the Mercy Watson series for a K read aloud. Have you seen those?

5. SwOcean Gal

SwOcean Gal Devotee

May 8, 2011

I was also going to add that Charlotte's Web is "claimed" by another grade level- so unfortunately younger grade levels cannot use it. If you really have your heart set on it and think you can finish it- then go for it, but first check that it is not a "claimed" book by another grade level. Oh, I like your idea about the pictures- that would make it a keeper for years to come! Good idea

6. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

May 8, 2011