Should I quit?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Newkindermom, May 25, 2016.

1. Newkindermom

Newkindermom Rookie

May 25, 2016

Hello,

I am considering quitting my position as a kindergarten teacher and trying to find a special education position. I was wondering if anyone could offer any advice…
    I have been teaching K for two years, before this I was a (very good, if I do say so) special ed teacher. In my role as a special ed teacher, I mostly taught phonics programs and remedial math for small groups of students with disabilities all day and felt like I was missing out on all those fun activities you get to partake in as a classroom teacher. I wanted to see what it would be like to have my own classroom... share stories, do art projects, teach science, and get to work with a variety of students, as opposed to just the struggling students.
    Well, while most of my students have made great progress and growth in their learning, I really struggle with managing behaviors and also day to day classroom management (ex- organizing the activities of the day or even planning movement in the classroom). I feel like I am constantly managing behaviors (not effectively) and that is all I do all day… and it is not fun. I work in an urban area where the behaviors in my school are out of control. I know if I worked in a suburban area it might be different, but I am worried it won't be. I still might struggle with managing behaviors and organizing activities for a large group of students. I just wonder if I don't have the personality for managing large groups.. I have read just about every classroom management book out there and it hasn't helped, though I have improved a bit over 2 years.