Should I quit? Please help.

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by *fountainhead, Nov 22, 2006.

?

Should I take the medical sales job? (What advice would you give to a good friend)

Poll closed Dec 2, 2006.
  1. Yes

35 vote(s)
    89.7%
  2. No

4 vote(s)
    10.3%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. *fountainhead

*fountainhead New Member

Nov 22, 2006

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to read this post. I am a male third grade teacher and this is my third year of teaching. I am teaching at a Catholic school - it is my second year here.

As you likely know the days are often emotionally exhausting. When I go home I really don't want to hear any kid's voices and I have three of my own at home (ages 4.5, 3, 14 months). I left a career in medical sales after our first baby was born to allow me to be home more. (My wife is a pediatrician). I have a big role at home and pick 2 of our kids up at my lunch time at their Montessori school daily to drive them home

At home we have someone who comes into our house to take care of our kids during the day. I make $26,000 per year - We pay her approx $20,000. My job is doing very little to contribute to the family finances.