Should I make my son repeat 6th grade at a new district?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Thebear, Aug 6, 2014.

1. Thebear

Thebear New Member

Aug 6, 2014

My is now 11 and his birthday is in late November and in California the cutoff was Dec. 2nd. I regret not holding him back to give him an extra year to grow and mature. Academically, he did fine, passed all state tests, but maturity wise, you can see a difference in him and his peers, and I'm worried that will create problems. I am an HS teacher, and I can tell which students are the younger ones without knowing. These students are behind socially and academically, and struggle throughout HS. We moved from California to Colorado last month and at the new school district I have the option of enrolling him in either 6th grade or 7th. When I mentioned this to him he BEGGED me to go to 7th grade and told me that if I put him in 6th that he will refuse to do all work. I did tell him that in HS he will be the 1st to get his driver's license, that all his friends will be getting their drivers license in 10th grade while he will be in 11th grade and still won't be able drive, and can drive girls on dates. That is not the reason I want to hold him back, but I told him that, and he still said NO. I feel it would be best to hold him back, but I don't want him to act moody and refuse to do work.

3. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Aug 6, 2014

The time to hold him back would have been five years ago. That ship has sailed, for better or for worse. Holding him back will do much more harm than good for him, both in the short and long-term.

4. readingrules12

readingrules12 Aficionado

Aug 6, 2014