Should I leave my current career to teach?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by bsum, Jul 23, 2010.

1. bsum

bsum Rookie

Jul 23, 2010

Hello all,

Has anyone else ever left behind another career to pursue teaching? While I certainly understand that this is a personal decision I must ultimately make myself, I was curious if anyone had any thoughts on this or have actually changed careers over to teaching and have any advice on the process.

I'm currently a manager in an insurance claims office (7 years now) and the work has grown quite boring. The reason I'm thinking of teaching is that the part of the job I enjoy the most is coaching and teaching new employees. While I understand this is not identical to teaching in a school setting, I really do like the feeling I get from helping someone understand a new concept. I would be taking the alternative teacher certification (Texas) route.

Thanks for any thoughts!

3. heymiss

heymiss Comrade

Jul 23, 2010

I'm a career changer, too, and I did an alternative certification program in Texas. Which program are you thinking of using?

It's harder to get your foot in the door for that first year of teaching as an alt. candidate, but once you've completed the first year and have your standard, it doesn't really matter how you obtained your certificate.

It's difficult to find teaching jobs just about anywhere these days, and schools do prefer teachers with some experience (even just student teaching) over an alternative candidate with no experience. It's not unusual to work at a charter school your first year with the hopes of moving to an ISD later on.

4. heymiss

heymiss Comrade

Jul 23, 2010

Oh, I should probably mention that I am WAY more satisfied and fulfilled with my teaching career than I was when I was an office manager. Even on the really difficult, stressful days, it's fun to be around the kids and know that what you do really matters.