Should I enter the teaching field?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by smiley79, Feb 24, 2014.

1. smiley79

smiley79 Rookie

Feb 24, 2014

Hi Everyone!

I am a 34 year-old office professional who has applied to a teaching program and is considering becoming an elementary school teacher in California. I have been doing research on the internet regarding job satisfaction and it's SCARY! I love teaching and I love kids, but there are SO MANY posts from teachers urging people not to go into teaching and warning those considering the field not to at all costs. I am starting to get the impression that the vast majority of teachers hate their job. I would be most grateful to any teachers who would share their experience and advice about whether they would recommend the field to others. Thanks so much!

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Feb 24, 2014

Welcome to A to Z, smiley79! Your threads have been merged: forum policy discourages multiple threads in multiple forums on the same topic at the same time by the same member, and I agree with the site owner's rationale that having the discussion in one place works better for everyone than when it's scattered. In any case, forum veterans tend to check for new posts not by going from forum to forum but by using one of the two "NEW:" links near the upper right corner of the page, where it says "Welcome, smiley79!": these bring up one or more pages of threads in which there have been new posts since the last time one signed in.

As to whether teaching is a good profession at present, I think you'll find a wide range of answers here. Bottom line is that, as with any other job, there are aspects that are frustrating; what drives one person from the profession may be what merely irritates another.

4. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Feb 24, 2014