Should I contact this principal????

Discussion in 'General Education' started by bewlove, Feb 27, 2015.

1. bewlove

bewlove Companion

Feb 27, 2015

Hey everyone!!!!!!!

I have a couple of questions. This is my first year teaching. I got a job at a good elementary school with very low turnover rates for teachers. My principal is great and I am loving my first year teaching. I have been teaching fourth grade. I have developed some great relationships with my fellow teachers and school staff. All in all, I'm very happy there. The only issue I have is location. I drive an hour in he mornings to work and an hour plus in the afternoons (depending on traffic) and when I leave. I either have to leave right when the kids leave or leave at 5:30 or later to avoid tacking on an extra 20-30 minutes to my drive home. This has been okay for this year, but I keep thinking long term as my husband and I are getting ready to want to leave our apartment and get a house. Kids are hopefully in the next 2-3 years, as well.

After discussing it with my husband, we don't really want to move too far from our current location. Our families are both very nearby, my mother was interested in providing our childcare when we have kids since she is home, and we spend so much time with both of our families that being an hour away isn't really an option for us at this time. Plus (thinking long term here) when we have children, I would like to be near my mother so that we could have her to watch our kids during the day (which she wants to do). She doesn't live in the same city right now anyway, so to move out towards my school would put her too far away to even consider that an option. That would mean a lot of added expense for daycare costs for an infant. I know this isn't even a thing right now but I feel that it is something to consider as we think abut purchasing a home.