Should i be feeding into this negativity?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ROE_Wedge, Jan 18, 2010.

1. ROE_Wedge

ROE_Wedge Rookie

Jan 18, 2010

A bit of a funny title i know...

I just recently graduated with my BA in Philosophy (best education i have ever received) and have a solid science/social science background. I work part time as a medic and have had 6 years in the military. Basically, i do not like to work normal jobs and i like to help others. I have been considering teaching secondary school in the sciences for a variety of reasons (rewarding career, not your regular everyday job, a chance to make a difference etc).

However, when i started doing research on these and other forums, i become absolutely swamped by the negative responses about becoming a teacher. Whether it be a problem with kids, parents, administration, or education policy as a whole it makes it seem like the message is "Good teachers are needed.. but please stay away".

I understand that most people who come to post usually have a problem that they seek advice on, and that could be why there are negative posts about seeking this as a career. Is there any positive comments that i could possibly fish for amongst a sea of negative ones about a teaching career?

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jan 18, 2010

I'm surprised that you found so many negative comments here on this site. I find that the A to Z community is generally positive and supportive.