should I apply for a prek position?

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by tb71, Apr 22, 2009.

1. tb71

tb71 Cohort

Apr 22, 2009

Any thoughts on whether or not teaching PreK is a good idea for a 1st year teacher? I'm in an ACP program and the school district I would really like to teach has an opening as PreK teacher. The preK program in this school district is only for "at-risk" children, based on economics or language barriers. It is also only a 50% position, which would actually work out well--I currently work in the family business and it may help by allowing me to still be able to help out and maybe I wouldn't feel so guilty about leaving the family business. However, with all that being said--teaching PreK would not have been my first choice--I would much rather teach 3-6 grade math and/or science. Of course, I could be wrong--maybe I would love PreK. Any thoughts from those seasoned teachers out there would be appreciated.

3. SarahJ

SarahJ Companion

Apr 22, 2009

My first year was as a pre-school teacher (3-4yr olds) So far I'm really liking it. Its more relaxed than the formal schooling years and I'm finding it easier to deal with parents of this age group coz I understand the age group very well (I've worked with babies - 4yrs for close on 9 years now), I don't have to 'fail' kids or decide if they're repeating a year, they just move up with their age group, we can start to identify problems but the furthest we go is observing, documenting and suggesting evaluations (which are all done privately)

I also want to move to the upper grades, but perhaps this is exactly what I needed this year.

It won't hurt to apply!

4. KarenPreK

KarenPreK Companion

Apr 23, 2009