Should every art class involve MAKING art?

Discussion in 'Art Teachers' started by Alyssa Meade, Jan 18, 2019.

1. Alyssa Meade

Alyssa Meade New Member

Jan 18, 2019

This is my second year teaching elementary art, and I only get 25 minutes with each class. Not to mention I am between 5 schools and on a cart at 3 of them. Up until now, I have killed myself to make sure the biggest portion of my class is MAKING art, not talking about it. I am afraid I'm not TEACHING about art enough. As a professional artist myself, I adore all the technical aspects of making art and I love passing it on. But it is exhausting to do a project 9+ times a day (going over materials, handing it all out, giving instructions, helping with the project, and cleaning up in 25 minutes).
    So in the end, I am absolutely wearing myself out prepping an insane amount of materials to create art every class, and trying to transport it from school to school. There are a lot of Standards that lend more to a classic classroom teaching style, with less hands on activities, but I am afraid to bore the students and make them lose interest.
    I have to have a good selection of student artwork finished by the end of the year for an art show, and I only see each class about 15 times the whole year. I would ideally like to have some classes making and some not. So my question is:
    Do you have any classes that are purely teaching about art related topics with no art making? How you keep the student's interest?

3. otterpop

otterpop Aficionado

Jan 25, 2019

25 minutes is tough.