Setting up classroom?? When do teachers usually go in?

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by MissNewTeach161, Aug 8, 2008.

1. MissNewTeach161

MissNewTeach161 Rookie

Aug 8, 2008

Hi everyone!!! I was so excited last week to see my room and its so overwhelming! But then they had said they don't want anyone to go in start setting up until two weeks before. Now I call and the principal said 1 week before! WHAT IS GOING ON?! I feel like I am not going to have enough time and THIS IS MY FIRST YEAR:( I definately want to have everything ready :eek:

3. NewGirl23

NewGirl23 Rookie

Aug 8, 2008

We were able to go in 2 weeks before. They always make us wait because they are waxing the floors. Try to recruit everyone you can think of to help you. GOOD LUCK!!!!

4. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Aug 8, 2008

I didn't get into my room the first year until during the new teacher orientation stuff--about a week before school started. It sounds like a decent amount of time, but it was filled with meetings and tours!

Try not to stress too much. You don't have to have your room perfect on Day 1. If you're able to stay late a day or two before the kids come, and if you can bring a buddy to help, you'll probably get most of the big stuff done.

Congratulations on your new position!

5. MissNewTeach161

MissNewTeach161 Rookie

Aug 8, 2008

Thanks everyone! I was getting worried cause there are some posts I've been reading that people are already almost done with their classrooms! But hopefully it will be ok!

6. ZoomZoomZOOM

ZoomZoomZOOM Devotee

Aug 8, 2008