Setting up a 6th grade middle school classroom

Discussion in 'General Education' started by newteacher6, May 25, 2012.

1. newteacher6

newteacher6 Rookie

May 25, 2012

As most of you know, I am a new teacher this year. I began at the end of the year as a leave replacement; however, I believe I will be back next year. The last 2 days were are allowed to set up our classroom for the following year. I want to incorporate some really good ideas. I need better management and I want it to look organized and bright in my room. I need serious suggestions!! I teach in a middle school so they children switch classes..

Any suggestions ??? Thank You!

3. stephenpe

stephenpe Connoisseur

May 25, 2012

What subject will you teach?

4. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

May 25, 2012

Here is a slideshow of what my 7th grade language arts classroom looked like last year. I had 35 students per class period, so my room was crowded. Normally I had 25 per class. I'm hoping my numbers go back down this year.

5. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

May 25, 2012

I think a lot depends on your subject and how you like to teach?

Do you want the students in groups, a circle (semi-circle), rows, etc?

Buy fabric for your bulletin boards-no more cutting paper and it lasts for years. Get some for any open cabinet space as well.

6. roxstar

roxstar Companion

May 26, 2012

Could you tell me how you attached the fabric to your shelves? I have these standard ugly steel shelves and I would like to make my room less drab next year.

THanks!

7. silverspoon65

silverspoon65 Enthusiast

May 26, 2012

When do they clean your classrooms? In every school I have worked at, they take every single thing out of your room and put it out in the hall and strip and wax the floors. So while I can get some things organized, totally setting up my room would be pointless.