Seriously .... they don't even hear me!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by woobie5, Jan 16, 2010.

1. woobie5

woobie5 Comrade

Jan 16, 2010

I'm a Kindergarten teacher and for some reason lately my kids just chat, chat, chat all day long. LIning up, transitioning, at their desk while working, in the hallway etc, etc. I realize I must've failed somewhere. Any ideas? How can I correct this? It's like they don't even hear my voice! HELP!

3. GoldenPoppy

GoldenPoppy Habitué

Jan 16, 2010

Change the way you are getting their attention. Try whispering, singing, chanting, something that you haven't done before. Mix it up.

4. tenndon

tenndon Rookie

Jan 16, 2010

You also may want to look at your total classroom management plan. Are the consequences appropriate to the situation? Are they real or just threatened consequences? In other words, do they know you mean business when they are rowdy? Also, what are your rewards for good behavior? Whole class and individul.

Just some thoughts.

5. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

Jan 16, 2010

How long ago did they start being this way? Next time, really try to nip behavior like theirs in the bud before if really gets out of hand, like it seems to be doing now. I'm not trying to lecture you, it's just a friendly suggestion! :)

How about findind a strange noise, such as a lion roaring loudly & record that & play it to really get their attention? You should be able to find all kinds of sounds on the internet. Kids these days are so immuned to hearing bells, beeps, & things of that nature.

Also, aren't there usually a few parents in kindergarten rooms helping out? What do they do when the kids are out of hand & running all over the place? Do they just stand there & not get involved? I'd get them to help round up the kids to get their attention towards YOU.

6. jen12

jen12 Devotee

Jan 16, 2010

I'm convinced that when we talk, kids hear the "wa waaaa wa wa wa" that the Charlie Brown characters hear when their teachers speak.