Separating school and my life

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Shiloh17, Mar 12, 2014.

1. Shiloh17

Shiloh17 Companion

Mar 12, 2014

Hi,

I am a first year teacher. I find that all I think about are lessons, planning, precutting, laminating etc. Separating my personal life from school is becoming very challenging. I just want to do excel at my work and prove myself. I need advice on ways to deal with this issue. Have any of you ever had trouble separating school and your personal life? All I do is plan and I drive myself crazy :(

Thanks,

Shiloh

3. Go Blue!

Go Blue! Connoisseur

Mar 12, 2014

During my first few years, I was working all day at work and then working all night at home. This pattern only left me tired, frustrated, burnt-out and resentful.

Now, I've come to the point where I refuse to do any work at home on the weekdays unless its an absolute must (something I HAVE to do for tomorrow). I do my school work at work (during my plan) and I spend my time at home recovering from the work day. I do spend all day Sunday planning also, though.

There is no such thing as being the perfect teacher. You can drive yourself crazy and burn yourself out trying to become this person.

4. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Mar 12, 2014

I spent years and years living school. My husband knew he wouldn't see me from August to June.

I have learned to balance life and school. I go in early so I don't have to bring work home.

Of course, this is my last year, so I'm not under as much stress this year :)

5. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Mar 12, 2014

Years ago I stopped bringing things home except on weekends, and then I wouldn't work on anything until Sunday afternoon. Now I don't even do that. I will sometimes go to school on Sunday afternoons to work, but nothing comes home.