Seniors and Bathroom Policies

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by ms.irene, Sep 23, 2015.

1. ms.irene

ms.irene Connoisseur

Sep 23, 2015

This is my first year teaching a traditional Senior English class. I have had seniors in the past in my French and ELD classes, and I have taught seniors online, but it's my first pure class of seniors. I was warned by many at my school that our seniors have a reputation for being entitled and challenging. So far, it's going really well, overall, but I have some questions about seniors and bathroom policies.

I have a bathroom policy which is: I give out cards which are good for four passes, and if unused they are each worth 5 points of extra credit. I used these last year in my combined level classes with no issues. The seniors (some of them) seemed offended that I would offer them something that is so "beneath them." They are mostly over it, with one exception. What do you think -- is this system too babyish for seniors?

There's just one student who continues to question me on this policy. He is a smart but troubled kid -- I know he had three concussions in a row in his freshman year (football) and he shows signs of brain injury (confusion, frustration). He also lives with his aunt & uncle due to family issues, but that's all I know. He continues to complain about my policies long after everyone else seems over it. When he brings it up, I tell him to see me after class if he needs to discuss this issue. Yesterday, he said he needed to go, and when I asked for his pass, he refused to look for it. He said it was an emergency and that we was going to go on the floor if he didn't go right then. I let him go, but instantly regretted it and felt like I shouldn't have given in. How would you have responded?

I really feel like this one student is trying to challenge my authority and is affecting the attitude of others -- how do I nip it in the bud without making a bigger deal out of it?

3. jadorelafrance