Self-Contained One Grade Structure?

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by FourSquare, Jul 21, 2012.

1. FourSquare

FourSquare Fanatic

Jul 21, 2012

Does anyone teach in a self-contained special ed room? The rest of the teachers in my building are gen ed or resource teachers, so their rooms will be a little different than mine. I will have 11 6th graders all day for all subjects. Since I am new to middle school and sped, I am panicked about doing it right. I am not sure if I should be doing mostly whole group or small group instruction. I wont know their levels until I see IEPs next week, but I do know they are all labeled LD. Would any of you be willing to briefly walk me through your day and what each subject looks like?

3. BumbleB

BumbleB Habitué

Jul 21, 2012

This is off topic, but why are LD kids in a self-contained class for all subject areas? Hello....LRE!

Unless your district uses LD as the term for MH or CD?

4. karebear76

karebear76 Habitué

Jul 21, 2012

I'm curious as to why they are self contained if they are only learning disabled...

I don't have any specifics other than you'll probably have a mix of whole group and small group instruction. Will you have an assistant/aide?

You might want to think of some center type activities for one group to do while you are doing small groups.

5. FourSquare

FourSquare Fanatic

Jul 21, 2012

That's a good question! I don't know. I know they mentioned an ADHD case which also presented behavior issues in the gen ed setting, but honestly nothing they said was as nearly severe as what I've seen. At my last 2 schools the special ed kids had profound physical disabilities, traumatic brain injury, or severe behavior issues. I keep expecting this, and they keep telling me "We don't have anything like that here." :unsure: