Self-Care...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by i.heart.trees, Jul 22, 2020.

1. i.heart.trees

i.heart.trees Rookie

Jul 22, 2020

I am a second year teacher who hasn't yet developed a set of self-care strategies that come with experience. The pandemic adds another layer to this to my anxiety about the school year coming up, despite my strategy of not speculating and using the time to rest up. I am asking for a list of things that work for you in terms of self-care in general. I appreciate any responses and many thank yous in advance. Also, is there anything that your school or team has done to help promote self-care?

3. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Jul 22, 2020

We have really focused on mental health and self care with our students. We did a lot of checking in with kids through phone calls and emails to make sure they were okay. We sent out self care items on our school FB page.

I’m on year 28, and last year was a struggle for me. I don’t bring work home, so suddenly having to work from home was hard. It took me about a week to develop boundaries for myself. I had to make dedicated work space and office hours.

I also do things like get massages and pedicures and manicures. I wasn’t able to do those things, so it was hard. I did finally get my eating on track. I ate crap for awhile. Gained weight. Now I’m counting calories, and I’m down 20 Pounds which makes me feel better.

I’m also a list maker. It helps me to write down what has to be done and categorize my must do, should do, can do eventually. Helps with being overwhelmed.

i.heart.trees likes this.
  4. i.heart.trees

i.heart.trees Rookie

Jul 22, 2020

Thanks, Ima Teacher!

5. stargirl

stargirl Companion

Jul 23, 2020

It may sound silly, but having nice school/office supplies makes me feel good. I don't go crazy and buy expensive Erin Condren planners or the like, but having nice gel pens, notebooks, folders, etc makes some of the more tedious record keeping stuff a bit more enjoyable.