Seeking jobs in another states

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by historical_soul, Apr 11, 2010.

1. historical_soul

historical_soul Rookie

Apr 11, 2010

Hello! First time poster but old time lurker of the forums.

My question is how do you let employers know you are able and willing to relocate/get the proper state certification without sounding desperate in your cover letter?

Maybe a bit of background will help? I graduated from college in May 2009 with my Instructional I certification in Social Studies (7-12) from Pennsylvania. I applied to over 60 jobs in Pennsylvania, Maryland, New Jersey, and Texas. I got one interview because I had a connection to the department, but no job offers.

So I spent this year substitute teaching in my new home of Texas (originally from NJ). Now that the job search has started again in earnest, I've pulled all stops. I'm applying to every social studies position I can find. I currently have certification in Texas and Maryland as well as my original one, but do not have the financial means to gain certification in every state I'm applying to. I think my lack of certification and my location last summer hurt some of my employment opportunities, and I'm scared it will happen again and I'll go another year without teaching full time. I'm feeling doubtful about a job in Texas because so many of the social studies positions require coaching (I did all the nerdy extracurricular in college and high school), but would be happy to go to any other state just as long as I have a job.

So while I am somewhat desperate, I know that's a tone to avoid when job hunting.