Secondary Math Teacher

Discussion in 'High School' started by dj1448, Jul 14, 2007.

1. dj1448

dj1448 New Member

Jul 14, 2007

I am a second year math teacher at a high school level. My district has taken on the Core Plus style of teaching for our math program. For those of you who are unfamiliar this is a math program where concepts and ideas are taught through complete discovery math. Students are set up in groups and perform, what we call, “Math Labs”. The focus of the program is to have students understand math rather then just showing them how to do it. Students do not ever have “drill and kill” style classes or homework. I am a little apprehensive about this for low level students who might not have the ability or the motivation to critically think about the concepts in class and then be able to apply them to problems on their own. Has anyone dealt with a program like this and think it’s good? Bad? Does anyone have suggestions about how to teach in this type of learning environment?

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jul 14, 2007

Hi, and welcome!!

Let me start by saying: please don't judge me by what I'm about to post. I'm normally a very nice person.

But this is yet another reason that all administrators should teach. Whoever had this moment of inspiration should have to teach factoring to the products of this program.

I'm sure they'll all finish understanding all about multiplication. They'll realize that 24 desks could be put into 1 row of 24 or 2 of 12 or 3 of 8 or 4 of 6. Yep, give them 24 manipultiives and they'll be able to figure it out every time.

But fast forward to these same kids in a freshman algebra class, and try teaching them to factor. Get them to name two numbers whose product is 54 and whose sum is 3. Hey, as much as I hate the thought, I'll even let them have calculators. I bet you $1 that it will take them forever to come up with 9 and -6.

Sometimes understanding is NOT enough. Sometimes you need to KNOW.