Secondary first day activities

Discussion in 'Secondary Education Archives' started by Shartarri23, Aug 6, 2005.

1. Shartarri23

Shartarri23 New Member

Aug 6, 2005

I was wondering if anyone had any icebreakers or fun activites for the first day of school. I am a new teacher, teaching 11th grade US History.Thanks, Shartarri :)

3. Ms.Jasztal

Ms.Jasztal Maven

Aug 7, 2005

I remember doing interviews when I was in my first day of 11th grade US history. That was only seven years ago, so it's not too out of the times... ;)

4. Love to Teach

Love to Teach Cohort

Aug 7, 2005

This was in my Teachersfirst.com newsletter this morning. :) Might be fun as a cooperative group activity! Should make for some fun discussions! Funny how a person takes things for granted and doesn't really see them! :D Enjoy!

Trivia Quiz
    Here are a few questions which should "loosen up" even the more jaded high school student.
    If they're a competitive group, see scoring below.

1. On a standard traffic light, is the green on the top or bottom?
    2. How many states are there? ( don't laugh, some people don't know)
    3. In which hand is the Statue of Liberty's torch?
    4. What 6 colors are on the classic Campbell's soup label?
    5. What 2 letters don't appear on the telephone dial? ( no cheating!)
    6. What 2 #'s don't have letters by them?
    7. When you walk does your left arm swing w/ you right or left leg?
    8. How many matches are in a standard pack?
    9. On our flag, is the top stripe red or white?
    10. What is the lowest # on the FM dial?
    11. Which way does water go down the drain, counter- or clockwise?
    12. Which way does a "no smoking" sign's slash run?
    13. How many channels on a VHF TV dial?
    14. Which side of a women's blouse are the buttons on?
    15. On a NY license plate, is New York on the top or bottom?
    16. Which way do fans rotate?
    17. Whose face is on a dime?
    18. How many sides does a stop sign have?