Second Year Teacher Needs Job Advice

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by FT2012, Aug 13, 2013.

1. FT2012

FT2012 Rookie

Aug 13, 2013

I am a second year teacher with no job for the upcoming school year. Last year I taught on a temporary contract and my unit ended up being replaced with a subject area I am not certified to teach. I've been applying like crazy but haven't had a single call back or interview :confused: I am single and live on my own in a state where I have no family. I'm trying to make the best decision for my career and my bank account.

I thought about becoming a sub, it's just not enough to cover my bills and have extra money for emergencies. I have considered becoming a paraprofessional because it's a salaried position that pays more than a sub job and it offers health insurance. I have some health concerns that I would like to have monitored by doctors, so I would really like insurance. I've also considered moving back home where I have connections for jobs and I could stay with my mom for a while and work as a sub.

Has anyone been in a similar situation? Did you pick becoming a sub or becoming a para?

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Sep 3, 2013

Para sounds like the best choice for you. Check, though, to see whether those pre-existing conditions are an issue for insurance.

What's the up side to staying where you are? It sounds as though home has job connections, family support, and probably also the choice of sub/para... what's keeping you where you are now?

4. vateacher757

vateacher757 Cohort

Sep 3, 2013

If going back home will provide better opportunities along with the family support I would go back if there is nothing keeping you where you are and you think you will be happy back "home" (the area/city/town).

You can always apply to sub there as well.

5. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Sep 3, 2013