Second Grade Class of 20 looking for penpals

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by fullcircle, Jun 11, 2007.

1. fullcircle

fullcircle Rookie

Jun 11, 2007

I have had the great good luck to be hired for second grade in the fall and am very excited. I want to start off in the fall by doing pen pals with another second grade class, hopefully in an area very different from our own. Our school is one town over from Santa Cruz, California, minutes from the ocean. Anyone out there interested? I will have 20 students and we begin school on August 27th. I am hoping to start corresponding within a few days of then.

Also: anybody have any ideas about adapting the Jules Verne story Around the World in 80 Days for a thematic unit on world cultures. Many thanks in advance to all of you.

3. Touchthefuture

Touchthefuture Comrade

Jun 11, 2007

Hi I am a 2nd year teacher teaching 2nd grade again. This sounds like fun. Have you done it before? How often do the children write? I would be interested but do not have the experience. I expect to have 20-21 students and we start back on August 22nd.
    Let me know.

4. PEteacher07

PEteacher07 Cohort

Jun 11, 2007

does your school have a penpal system within it? at our school, the older students pen pal with the younger students.

5. fullcircle

fullcircle Rookie

Jun 12, 2007

Hi Touch the Future,