Second Chances

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Maddy 1983, Oct 24, 2008.

1. Maddy 1983

Maddy 1983 Rookie

Oct 24, 2008

In November, a student will return to school frome extended OSS. She was suspended because last April she threatened a male teacher with death if he didn't have sex with her. Then, when word got out, she threatened to set fire to the school, stab staff, and shoot students. Well, she's returning this November. Now this is my first year at this school but I'm kind of worried.

I really don't understand how any school district could possibly allow a record like that go "away" in such short time!

:(

3. Canadian Gal

Canadian Gal Habitué

Oct 25, 2008

They allow it because as public educators, they are legally obligated to educate her. Plain and simple. I worked in a division that wouldn't suspend kids who were court ordered to be at school - no matter what kind of trouble they caused, if a judge ordered them to be at school, they would be there, even if they started fights, skipped school, threatned students, teachers, even their probation officers.

Until they were locked up, they were our problem, end of story. So honestly, I would feel lucky that you're in a division that issues long term suspensions.

4. Budaka

Budaka Cohort

Oct 25, 2008

Sure, but the school also has a responsibility to keep the other students safe. We have had some students make threats against teachers lives. They ended up going to an alternative school but only for one year. After that they will be back with us. It is a little unnerving to go to work everyday and know that not only is there someone there who really doesn't like you, but has shown that it is not just a threat. They have acted in a violent way in the past.

5. Canadian Gal

Canadian Gal Habitué

Oct 25, 2008