Seating Arrangement ideas

Discussion in 'Fourth Grade' started by stac4742, Aug 15, 2007.

1. stac4742

stac4742 Rookie

Aug 15, 2007

Hello everyone!
    Today I am going to school to begin setting up my classroom. I was wanting to know if you all have ideas on whether it's best to start the students seated in groups or in rows. I was wanting to begin them in groups so that they can soon learn to work cooperatively, but this will be my first year in 4th grade, so I'm not sure what's best. What do you think? Thank you in advace!!

3. Teach2Inspire

Teach2Inspire Comrade

Aug 16, 2007

This is my first year teaching 4th grade also, but I have previously taught 5th grade the last 2 years. I always start my students out in table groups, especially in the beginning of the year so that they can do a lot of group activiites. I have had to move them into rows when they become extremely talkative, but they know that when they settle down and follow the class rules I will move them back to groups. And besides, with 34 students using rows takes up way to much room. :rolleyes:

4. stac4742

stac4742 Rookie

Aug 16, 2007

Thank you for responding!! Wow 34 students? Bless you!!
    I just set my students up in rows of two on each side. I really prefer for them to be in groups, but I will see after the 1st week how/who I want them grouped with.

-Stacey

5. teacherfourth

teacherfourth Rookie

Aug 22, 2007

seating

Hello,
    I normally start in a horseshoe shape - that way I can see their faces and put a name to it. By the end of the first week, I put them into groups of 4 or 6.:)

6. Teach2Inspire

Teach2Inspire Comrade

Aug 22, 2007