searching and searching for a teaching position

Discussion in 'General Education' started by gp3530, Jun 24, 2012.

1. gp3530

gp3530 New Member

Jun 24, 2012

Does anyone know any school in NYC or Long Island that may be hiring for the upcoming 2012-2013 school year?? I have been trying for years to get a position and I have had no luck at all. I know that there are so many people in the same position as I am. It is frustrating and depressing., but I do not want to give up hope. I teach prek-6, special education b-12, and Literacy b-6. I have 3 years teaching experience. I am welcoming any and all advice!

3. Aussiegirl

Aussiegirl Habitué

Jun 24, 2012

My daughter in the same location as you finally found a way to bring her two passions together - she became a horse trainer. She said she is still a teacher - teaches people of all ages to ride - and she spends all day around horses. She never had the opportunity to teach even with a magna cum laude degree in literature and education.

I do wish you luck. If you can be flexible, maybe you should try a different area of the country.

4. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Jun 24, 2012

It definitely is tough. Is there anyway that you could relocate? It can help you get more experience.

5. CFClassroom

CFClassroom Connoisseur

Jun 24, 2012

I was also going to suggest relocating. I moved to Florida for 2 years when I graduated. Best experience ever. I had so much fun, gained wonderful classroom experience and made great friends.

Best wishes on your search.

6. iteachbx

iteachbx Enthusiast

Jun 24, 2012

There are definitely jobs out there in NYC, especially in special education. Maybe you need to be more flexible about the types of schools you're looking at? I graduated from college recently and all of my special education major friends have had no problem getting jobs. However almost every single one is working in a title 1 school.