science without much notetaking

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by robyn, Jul 9, 2007.

1. robyn

robyn New Member

Jul 9, 2007

I am a second year science teacher with science grades 7-12. The thing that both the students and I hate is the note taking. I was giving way too many. Does anyone have suggestions for science class without many notes? I'm afraid if I dont give notes they wont get the info. If I don't give many notes, I maybe should give more practice work--I'm so new, and trying to figure how to make science fun while teaching 5 different preps and still have time for my family. Help please.

3. wig

wig Devotee

Jul 9, 2007

4. chemteach55

chemteach55 Connoisseur

Jul 9, 2007

I teach Chemistry and Physics and give very few notes. I have my notes on PowerPoint for them to download. (Each student has a laptop computer.) We discuss the notes and then apply them to many labs, activities, and practice problems. I also did this at a school that did not have the computers by copying the "notes." I think they get more out of the discussion because they do not spend all their time worrying about what they need to copy down. The discussion also gives them time to ask questions. Gina

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jul 9, 2007

Personally, the way I learn is to write stuff down. Afterwards I don't often have to look at it-- I can leave the directions home and usually be OK.

But I would really struggle in a class where I wasn't taking notes.

6. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jul 9, 2007

I don't really know if you're going to be able to get around the note-taking. Remember that you're preparing a lot of these kids for college, where they will have to know how to take notes just in order to survive.