Science third grade

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by klbzlb, Sep 3, 2012.

1. klbzlb

klbzlb Rookie

Sep 3, 2012

I am a third grade teacher in North Carolina. I need some ideas on teaching the planets and incorporate some art in the unit also. I would appreciate any help. It must go with the new common core.

3. cutelilram

cutelilram Rookie

Sep 3, 2012

I teach third grade in New York City and we don't teach about the universe in this grade but we do teach world geography. Last year I had my students make their own globe out of balloons, newspaper, glue and water, and paint. It turned out really cute and the students had a lot of fun making them. It was quite messy, so I would have them bring in an old t-shirt.

You can have the students make different planets in the solar system or they can each make their own mini solar system.

4. lucybelle

lucybelle Connoisseur

Sep 3, 2012

I had my kids be a tour guide of the universe. They had to take the "spectators" on the tour and give information about each planet. This was 5th grade, but I bet you could do something similar with 3rd?

5. readingrules12

readingrules12 Aficionado

Sep 3, 2012

There is an activity called Milk Planets in the book- Super Science Lab by Richard Hammond. I like that one a lot, and the students really enjoy it.

6. klbzlb

klbzlb Rookie

Sep 4, 2012

Thanks! I will look it up. I want to make learning fun and they will retain more of the lesson.

7. missapril81

missapril81 Companion

Sep 4, 2012

I am in West Virginia and I incorporated technology with our unit. We have 6 Tech Steps projects we have to do and I wanted to make it fun and something they would remember.

8. applecore

applecore Devotee

Sep 7, 2012