Science project ideas?

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by teachin3s, Sep 16, 2008.

1. teachin3s

teachin3s Rookie

Sep 16, 2008

Hello! I am a new teacher in a 3s classroom and I would like to do a science project with my students in two or three weeks. Our themes for the month are "Welcome to School", "All About Me", and "Families and Friends."

I am open to any and all ideas! Thanks so much in advance!

3. TeacherSandra

TeacherSandra Enthusiast

Sep 16, 2008

"Welcome to School" theme reminds me of apples! You can do a simple science experiment of sink/float with the apples. Ask your students if they think the apple will float or sink? Graph your answers.

4. teachin3s

teachin3s Rookie

Sep 16, 2008

I like that idea! We have apples all over our classroom so this would be a great way to incorporate that theme. Thanks!

Any other ideas would be great too!

5. teresaglass

teresaglass Groupie

Sep 16, 2008

How about putting rocks in water and comparing them wet or dry? also have them squueze lemonade and mix it with sugar. They love that.

6. WaProvider

WaProvider Fanatic

Sep 16, 2008

you could compare lemonaide and apple juice that isn't so processed. Squeeze a lemon, can you get juice? Now squeeze an apple can you get juice? Bite the apple and chew it up - did you get juice? How come you can't get it into the cup? How do they get apple juice?

Perhaps someone has a juicer? Or put it in a blender and see if you can get juice. Strain out the seeds and enjoy. Fiber and all.

7. Robin

Robin Rookie

Sep 16, 2008

Flowers....pick a bunch of flowers from your garden...or a garden, and soak them to get rid of the gunk and bugs....but if a bug or two stay on, that's ok, if it's an ant or a pill bug....let the kids pull them apart and look with magnifying glasses. You can sort the petals into coffee filters by color and let them dry and then use them in collage.

8. clarnet73

clarnet73 Moderator

Sep 16, 2008