Science Mini-Lesson Ideas?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by jdevine, May 21, 2008.

1. jdevine

jdevine Rookie

May 21, 2008

Hi Everyone,

I know that there are TONS of websites with lesson plan ideas out there and this may not be the place for me to be posting, but here goes. I am a graduate elem ed student and I have to do a science mini-lesson (15 min) next week and am at a loss. We can do it on anything (except for plants, water/ice/vapor, planets, and insects) and I don't have a clue. I've looked on a ton of lesson plan sites, but they all seem too complicated to do in 15 minutes. I'd like to do something intereting and hands-on, but I can't seem to figure it out, they just all seem so complicated and complex! Does anyone have any K-5 ideas for me?

Thanks!!

3. amyd

amyd Rookie

May 21, 2008

Hi, I'm an elementrary ed student too, and had to come up with a science mini-lesson like this a few months ago. You could do the concept of sink or float (bring in a tub with water and then variouse objects and ask students to predict if it will sink or float) this one you can easily make into a 15 min lesson.

4. jdevine

jdevine Rookie

May 21, 2008

Thanks so much, Amyd! Unfortunatly, someone else in my class is already doing that!! I feel so behind just because I can't think of anything!! :(

5. Emerson Squirl

Emerson Squirl Rookie

May 21, 2008

You could try a public library. I've found several books with ideas that could easily be done in a short period of time and/or expanded on. My favorite are the kitchen science books. Another book is "365 Simple Science Experiments with Everyday Materials" because you can select a project based on topic- water, gravity, etc.- or material- paper, eggs, string.... it's great!

6. love_reading

love_reading Comrade

May 21, 2008

How about living/nonliving? For an extension to the lesson, having them work in groups to cut out picture of living and nonliving things from magazines and glue onto a big chart.