Science for K-5?

Discussion in 'Special Education Archives' started by Unregistered, Mar 28, 2004.

1. Unregistered

Unregistered Guest

Mar 28, 2004

hello,
    I am currently teaching students with behavioral and emotional disorders. I have my students in groups for most classes because I have two assistants to help me. However, during science I am by myself and have 5 students in grades K-5 to teach, and no books. Does anyone have any ideas for units I could do that ALL the children would be able to participate in?
    Thank you,
    heather lynne

3. clarnet73

clarnet73 Moderator

Mar 28, 2004

I work in a school for kids with autism, and our room is mixed age about 5-11 or so... but many of our kids are on similar developmental levels, so that helps... we've done things like making and floating boats (with your older kids, you can even do how much weight will it hold, etc), what do plants need to grow, heavy/light predictions, lights and shadows, stuff like that... i'm sure other people will have better ideas. :)

4. HannahB2

HannahB2 Companion

Mar 31, 2004

Sprouting Seeds

This is not a really good idea but i will post it anyway-

This is an experiment-

Materials

*(# of groups) kinds of seeds
    *paper napkins/towels
    *(# of groups) zip-loc bags
    *scissors
    *water
    *tape
    *hand lens

Procedures-

1. Split into groups ( could be age groups anything you want to do)
    2. Start With A small amount of mixed seeds. Sort them out by color, size, shape etc... Sort them into ( how many groups of students there are)groups
    3. Cut paper towels in half( number of groups there are. ex 3 groups so cut 2 paper towels in half) Fold the towels to fit into the plastic bags. Add water to dampen towels. DO NOT add to much towels or you will drown the seeds.
    4. Put 1 group of seeds into each bag. seal bags.Label Bags Group 1, 2, 3 etc... Also Label with names of students. Tape each bag to the inside of a window.