Science: article Fridays/months?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by chemistrynerd, Jul 13, 2013.

1. chemistrynerd

chemistrynerd Rookie

Jul 13, 2013

As a science teacher, I also want to incorporate literacy and reading into science. I thought it would be cool to have something called "Article Fridays" (or monthly, and maybe a more creative name) where students read articles and summarize them on different chemistry topics that they find interesting. I'd have a couple students each time share what they found, and they'd all hand them in. I work on a block schedule so I'm not sure exactly how this would work. Does anyone have creative ideas on how to get kids thinking of science that's in the 'real world'? I'd probably do this with my honors or AP classes.

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jul 13, 2013

I like the idea, but not for just Honors/AP. I think that all students can work on improving their literacy.

Besides, this is a good way to connect your content to current events. You'll need to find high-interest articles that grab their attention and keep it.

I'm not sure that I would devote an entire block to this activity because it might get boring even with high-interest articles.

4. Myrisophilist

Myrisophilist Habitué

Jul 13, 2013

I'm really into literacy and science as well, so PM me about it anytime! :)
    Do your students have internet access in the classroom? If so, that opens up a world of resources. I put a ton of RSS feeds on my website that relate to each class I teach. The New York Times Learning Blog has so many ideas on incorporating news into every subject. I highly recommend spending some time going through their resources. Here are a few I've bookmarked:
    12 Ways to Learn Vocabulary With The New York Times
    Great Ways to Teach Any Day’s Times
    Teaching Topics

5. chemteach55

chemteach55 Connoisseur

Jul 13, 2013