School's Out, I'm going back to Accounting and Finance

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by 99 percent, Jul 4, 2020.

1. 99 percent

99 percent Rookie

Jul 4, 2020

Greetings from California,

I just spent 2 and a half years in a teacher credential program while substitute teaching. I'm credentialed in general science (middle school) Earth and space science (middle and high school) and while I was still in school, I picked up an additional PE credential (k to 12). Since mid March, I was told to stay home. I can no longer substitute teach and now I'm being told the fall will begin as distance education. I've applied to dozens of science and PE teaching positions, and no job offers. I'm thinking of going back to accounting and finance. My background is MBA/Finance. Anyone else feel they are in the same boat?

3. tuankiet153

tuankiet153 Rookie

Jul 4, 2020

Have you taken the PPR exam? Have you passed it? Have you taken the content exam? Did you apply for standard certification? You must finish those things before applying for teaching position.

4. mathteachertobe

mathteachertobe Cohort

Jul 4, 2020

In my area of California, many middle schools want math/science core teachers, so Foundational Math would probably boost your employability. Earth science is not a very common need here, Biology, Chemistry or Physics are the primary disciplines we hire for in high school. I don't know much about the PE job market, but in my district there are more middle school PE teachers than high school ones.

I think we may be heading into a tough job market. I was job hunting during the last recession and ended up getting many more middle school interviews than high school ones, mostly because I had both math and science endorsements. Are you getting interviews? If not, you might want to have someone read over your cover letter.