School Psychologist jobs?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by lionvirion, Jun 21, 2014.

1. lionvirion

lionvirion Rookie

Jun 21, 2014

Does anyone know how hard it is in your area to get this job? My husband just graduated and is searching for his first school psych position. Just looking for some hope or encouragement that he will find something before school starts. We're in NY. But he's applying in CT too and we're becoming willing to move pretty far away if that means he'll have a job. Can you tell me where you live and how hard it is to secure this job?

3. MissD59

MissD59 Comrade

Jun 21, 2014

I live on Long Island. I'm a teacher, but my best friend is a school psychologist. She landed a job in a special ed school after her masters, but only because our friend's mother is a principal there. Then she had to move to Chicago because her husband was accepted to an MBA program at Northwestern, and she worked there for a couple of years. She said that it wasn't easy for her to land the job, but her husband's program actually has job placement programs in place for the spouses of the people in this MBA program, which helped her with her job search.

They just moved back to NY this year, and she landed a job as a school psychologist leave replacement this spring. She is currently looking because her position ended, but is finding it difficult, even with a couple of years experience under her belt. I should add that my friend is awesome, she went to Emory for undergrad, always had great grades, and is just wonderful.

I'm looking for teaching jobs, and I haven't seen very many school psychologist jobs posted at all. If you think about it, there is typically only one psychologist in a school, if that (mine splits her time between two elementary schools in the district).

4. MikeTeachesMath

MikeTeachesMath Devotee

Jun 21, 2014