School Appopriate Music that's CURRENT?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by ArtTeacherK, Mar 26, 2009.

1. ArtTeacherK

ArtTeacherK Rookie

Mar 26, 2009

Does anyone have any clean playlists (just a list of songs, not necessarily a file or mp3s) or links to online radio stations that play clean (no swears, no overwhelming sexual innuendos or outright descriptions of violent acts) but current music that an urban population might like? I'm thinking along the lines of Rihanna's Umbrella song?

I'm an art teacher who'd like to play some music for the older kids while they're working independently. Unfortunately, all the music I like is electronica or underground indie pop or lots of other things that the kids at this school could care less about :) I'm having a lot of trouble finding stuff.

3. sciencewrestler

sciencewrestler Rookie

Mar 26, 2009

I would try www.pandora.com. I've been using it myself the past couple months and like it.

It's a free online streaming music station that can be customized by the user, but I am not sure if it could be guaranteed that ALL the songs would be free of curse words or decriptions of situations not appropriate for a school environment.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Mar 26, 2009

Take a look at Will Smith's stuff.

A few years ago, my Korean/Irish/Italian/American son decided he loved rap music. He was about 7 years old at the time; way too young for the lyrics that typically accompany rap music. The I discovered Will Smith.

The messages are all positive, but the style is rap.

Here's a particular favorite:

http://www.sing365.com/music/Lyric....s-Will-Smith/31B4697E863418DC48256BCD0007AE62

5. MsMar

MsMar Fanatic

Mar 26, 2009

Here's a list of some suggestions. These are all top 20 on the station that I listen to which plays music my high school students would enjoy. I gave links to the lyrics for most. I didn't necessarily read every word, so if something is inappropriate disregard the suggestion!