Scholastic Warehouse Book Fairs- Worth the trip?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by clr2785, Nov 30, 2008.

1. clr2785

clr2785 Rookie

Nov 30, 2008

I just got an email from Scholastic about the locations for the Holiday Warehouse sale. The closest one to me is about an hour away, but I would love to go, if it would be worth it.

Has anyone been to these before? I'm a new teacher so I would love to stock up on cheap books, but how cheap are we talking about and are they good books or discards?

Thanks for any advice!

3. dr.gator

dr.gator Comrade

Nov 30, 2008

Haven't been, but would love to hear from those who have. We have one coming locally and I've invited a parent to go with me. If it isn't worth it I'd hate to waste her time.

4. Mr. K

Mr. K Rookie

Nov 30, 2008

I have been to one about an hour from me a few times. There are a lot of GOOD books. Some discounts are better than others, but I always come away with some deals. It is also a good time to stock up on gifts or treasure chest items. Often times there are great erasers and/or pencils for pennies!

5. crayonfan

crayonfan Companion

Nov 30, 2008

To be honest with you they are hit or miss. I went to two last year, one in Dec. and one in the spring. I bought a ton of books for a fraction of the price in December. In the spring - I bought just a few books and really thought it wasn't worth the trip. I would go if you are a new teacher and want to stock your library.

6. uclalum

uclalum Groupie

Nov 30, 2008

They're ok. I went to 1 last year and bought some pencils, erasers, and some Steve Spangler Snow. As far as books, the deals are ok. They weren't any books less than a dollar and most were between $2 and $5. I think you can get similar deals from the scholastic book club, ebay, or yard sales.

7. MsTeckel

MsTeckel Comrade

Nov 30, 2008