Scholastic Book Orders

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by cocobean, Oct 1, 2016.

1. cocobean

cocobean Companion

Oct 1, 2016

I've been trying to submit my book order since yesterday, but there is a delay in processing orders. *le sigh

Anywho, do you use Scholastic book orders in your class? How do you like it?
    I teach at a Title I school and was pleasantly surprised to receive $100+ in orders from students! As a first year teacher, I love how Scholastic helps me build my classroom library.

A few teachers at my school don't send the book orders home because they assume families cannot/will not buy. I see this as a disservice to their students but what do I know...

3. shoreline02

shoreline02 Cohort

Oct 2, 2016

Wow! I also work at a title one school in a very low SES area, but I only get maybe $25-$50 each order.

4. Leaborb192

Leaborb192 Enthusiast

Oct 2, 2016

What is SES? I keep seeing that and have no idea what it means.

5. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Oct 2, 2016

Socioeconomic status

6. Leaborb192

Leaborb192 Enthusiast

Oct 2, 2016

AH, OK! I even Googled it and came up with all kinds of results... Thanks.

7. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Oct 2, 2016

Scholastic often features a 99 cent book or two in its offerings. It is a great way to build s class library over time, encourage literacy at home... I also get class sets of books for holiday and end of year gifts. I currently have enough bonus points to get a new iPad!

oneteacher and cocobean like this.
  8. Backroads

Backroads Aficionado

Oct 2, 2016

I loved them as a kid, so I've tried to make them available. I hadn't done so at my current school partially due to SES fears but people seem to like them.

9. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Oct 2, 2016