Scheduling Help

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by OUOhYeah, Jul 10, 2018.

1. OUOhYeah

OUOhYeah Comrade

Jul 10, 2018

So I will be teaching 5th Grade this year, ELA and Social Studies and my partner teacher will be doing Math and Science. How do we make up a schedule for switching? It is in our hands..... I've never done this before. I would like to get everything in ELA done in the morning and social studies done in the afternoon. Could we do Math and ELA in the morning and Science/Social Studies in the afternoon? Also I would want a 2 hour chunk of time for ELA for both periods... now this does not mean it will happen. My school goes from 8:00-3:00.

3. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Jul 10, 2018

This is similar to what we do at my school, only we both teach our own homerooms reading. My partner teacher teaches all other aspects of ELA and social studies, and I teach math and science. Our principals creates the schedule for us, so we don't really have much say in the length of our blocks or our switching time.

I agree with doing ELA in the morning, but I think that you could leave it up to your partner teacher to decide how he/she wants to break up math and science. Without knowing your lunch/recess and specials/plan time schedule, it's hard to help you break up the day. We do two 105 minute blocks during which we teach both departmentalized subjects before lunch, and then we have another 100 minute block for reading later in the day. If you can't get both of your two hour blocks in before lunch/recess/specials, then you may have to do another two hour block in the afternoon. You might also have to have smaller chunks of time to work around those other pieces of the schedule.

4. agdamity

agdamity Fanatic

Jul 10, 2018

It would be easiest to just switch once, with a 2.5 hour block of time. One group would have ELA in the afternoon, but in my experience, the fewer times the students switch the better.