Scared Teacher

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by ladycajun1105, Jul 22, 2008.

1. ladycajun1105

ladycajun1105 Rookie

Jul 22, 2008

I am a new teacher, this is my first year teaching. I am going through alternative certification. I was feeling okay, but now I am quite scared. I just feel so unprepared.

I have visited my classroom and there is just tons of stuff that does not need to be in there. I don't have the supplemental materials needed for the subjects, and several other issues.
    I don't know how many students I will have, I don't know if we have a schedule for when each subject is supposed to be taught, I don't know anything about the school, I don't have any experience with small groups. I am just a nervous wreck. I have new teacher orientation two days before school starts, I just feel that this is not enough time.
    I just need a little advice. Thanks.

3. CHI

CHI Rookie

Jul 22, 2008

Hello! You sound a lot like I was two years ago. I went through an alternative route to certification therefore I felt very unsure of myself and afraid to ask questions. I thought I was supposed to already know everything but, the truth is you learn it while you are teaching! The best advice is to make friends with fellow teachers. Luckily I was able to befriend a teacher who would answer my questions and guide me along. Most teachers will share their schedules with you so you can copy theirs and eventually you will become comfortable and rearrange the schedule to meet your needs (example: I hate doing math in the morning so I save it until the afternoon whereas other teachers prefer it in the morning). Come to think of it, most teachers will share anything with you if you ask.
    As far as small groups, I have been working on it for 2 years and am still tweaking it! Have a good behavior plan and that will help tremendously.
    Take a few deep breaths! I was nervous too when I began but I made it!!!
    Good luck! You will do fine!!!

4. janlee