scared out of my gourd!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by munchkin, May 13, 2007.

1. munchkin

munchkin Cohort

May 13, 2007

Finally got the nerve up (again) to try and go out and interview for a teaching position. A family friend recommended I call the school which her grandchildren attend, and promised to back it up with a follow up call as a reference. Well, I did, and much to my suprise, I actually got to speak with the principal and was invited to interview Tomorrow for a third grade position! I have always wanted to teach third or fourth grade!:)
    Since I have been out of teaching for more than 18 years, I recertified in 2002 and have been a substitute teacher in both LTS and daily assignments for the past 5 years in about 7 districts/ 2 counties.I have tried many different "jobs", but none fulfill the burning need to be a teacher that I believe I have. Recently, I have been working outside of teaching for about 6 months, so I am very very very nervous about returning.:eek:
    I believe I am a teacher at heart, and I think that given time, I'd be a great teacher. I love being in a classroom, although classroom managment isn't my real strong forte. I definitely could use help in that area. But as far as I have seen, the only way that skill becomes good, is with sheer practice! I've read up on theories and books and talked to dozens of people, but have yet to actually get to practice in on my own, other than in substituting, which I have usually gotten great reviews.
    I got the Adam Waxler book,(among others) and am totally confused.
    Right now, I have worked myself up to being sick to my stomach with nerves! I will be thumbing through the interview questions on this site, and re reading Adam's book, again. Any other suggestions?
    let you know how it goes, after the interview.
    munchkin

3. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

May 13, 2007