Scared and a nervous wreck!!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by mrs.teach, Jul 27, 2007.

1. mrs.teach

mrs.teach Rookie

Jul 27, 2007

hi y'all!! i'm new to this discussion forum....

The school's are opening pretty soon and we have an parent -teacher meet greet before it does. I am a first year teacher and i am very nervous about meeting the parents. do you have any ideas on what i should be saying and what i should NOT say? :help:

what things should i give out?

i probably will have soo many other questions for y'all so get ready!!! lol:lol:

3. runsw/scissors

runsw/scissors Phenom

Jul 27, 2007

What is the meeting about? Without know it's hard to offer advice, but I'd say take a pad of paper and a pen with you. Write down everything the parent says verbatim clarifying every few minutes. They can't claim later that you weren't listening to their concerns. It will also help you stay on track and organize your thoughts. And it's documentation.

4. mrs.teach

mrs.teach Rookie

Jul 27, 2007

the meeting is sort of like open house you can say. the parents and students will be there. i know i'll find somethings about the students from the parents....but it's the first time we'll actually meet. how do i make a good first impression?

5. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Jul 27, 2007

Just be yourself, smile, great each child warmly. Have some puzzles or games like checkers out for the kids (what grade?). I teach in private, too, and the kids love seeing their friends and what their new classroom looks like. The parents aren't there to interrogate or judge the teachers. You could put out any questionnaires or welcome letters or school handbooks if you have those.

6. WindyCityGal606

WindyCityGal606 Enthusiast

Jul 27, 2007