scar tissue

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by lark265, Jul 11, 2016.

1. lark265

lark265 Rookie

Jul 11, 2016

might as well be truthful....I have had six teaching positions in my career and have only been "re-elected" once. The fact that I am a SPED Teacher makes it easier to get hired. This is hard. I think maybe I have been traumatized by some very difficult experiences in (my lack of) classroom management. Often I think about a job flipping burgers at McDonald's but the pay is too low. I am hoping by sharing this here, even though it's anonymous, it will help me, the truth maybe setting me free.......I know I have spent a lot of energy kind of hiding my negative experiences and failures, but that hasn't' gotten me very far. In my classrooms, I have been sworn at, denigrated, humiliated and belittled. I'll write back in a bit......thanks

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jul 12, 2016

Classroom management lays the foundation in any classroom. Learning is compromised when good management is missing.
    What steps have you taken to improve in this area? There are some great websites, books and PD available on this topic. How can we help?

Last edited: Jul 12, 2016
  4. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Jul 12, 2016

What cza cza says is true, but everyone can improve. Set a few simple goals for a specific period of time, say one month or six weeks. Research everything you can about those areas and ask questions here. Nobody should be belittled, no matter what. That is just plain unprofessional. Have you had a mentor? Can you ask for one?

5. Milsey

Milsey Habitué

Jul 24, 2016

Contact other teachers on your team who have the same students; they may be able to help curb some of the more extreme behaviors. .

6. Ms.Stephens

Ms.Stephens Rookie

Sep 3, 2016