saying goodbye to students you love

Discussion in 'General Education' started by PEteacher07, Apr 3, 2008.

1. PEteacher07

PEteacher07 Cohort

Apr 3, 2008

I might be losing 2 sisters who I adore to a move this summer. Being an elementary PE teacher, I have taught these girls for going on 3 years. They are great kids and work sooo hard in my gym class. They are the fiercest of competitors but are well behaved and polite.

How can I deal with this? I feel like my heart is breaking and I have just been so sad over the past week on hearing the news that this could be happening. :(

3. SwOcean Gal

SwOcean Gal Devotee

Apr 4, 2008

Its hard to lose students, especially after having them so long and having the potential of not seeing them due to a move. It is heartbreaking. Perhaps, you could do something special- maybe write them a note and let them know you think they are going to go far in life and how much you have enjoyed having them in your class and everything else. Then perhaps you could supply them each with 2 or 3 stamped self addressed envelopes, in the name of your school, its usually not acceptable to use your home address, and ask them to write to you about their new home and new place.
    Its hard and I sympathize with you. It does break your heart and you will always remember those kids. Best wishes. You are obviously a wonderful teacher that truly cares about your students.

4. Rockguykev

Rockguykev Connoisseur

Apr 4, 2008

Never teach middle school!

I teach a 2 year elective and I'm 10 weeks away from my second rotation ending and it is KILLING me to know I'm going to lose these kids. The end of the first rotation did the same to me. I give them all my email and beg them to keep in touch. Only a very few ever do check back in but that keeps me going. I've recently set up a class website that I hope will keep them coming back but still that isn't the same.