Sand in shoes... I may need a procedure

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Backroads, Aug 29, 2019.

1. Backroads

Backroads Aficionado

Aug 29, 2019

Any of you who have a playground area with a sandbox... how exactly do you handle sand in shoes?

Allowing students to dump out after recess in the garbage can has not been successful... takes too much time and makes a big mess.

I am attempting to set up a situation where they dump out before they come in the classroom, but a lot of them can't tie their shoes (1st grade)

The sad fact is that I need something. I have a kid who bawls from the irritation of sandy shoes, and telling them "just deal with" results in a lot of fidgeting.

Tired Teacher likes this.
  3. vickilyn

vickilyn Magnifico

Aug 29, 2019

I can sympathize with students and teacher. I absolutely hate sand in my shoes, and am so distracted that everything has to be put on hold until the sand is gone. As a teacher, I would hate to have to have a time-eating procedure after every recess just to let the kids get the sand out of their shoes. I'm guessing that students who are without socks are more troubled, but if it were me, all the socks in the world wouldn't placate me if there was sand in my shoes. Let us know what you come up with!

a2z likes this.
  4. otterpop

otterpop Aficionado

Aug 29, 2019

What if you closed the sandbox down three to five minutes before the end of recess and gave kids the chance to dump out the sand while still outside?

a2z, ecteach, Ms.Holyoke and 3 others like this.
  5. Tired Teacher

Tired Teacher Comrade

Aug 30, 2019