Salary Question - Two BA's

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by JohnWA75, May 11, 2021.

1. JohnWA75

JohnWA75 New Member

May 11, 2021

Hello - I have two BA degrees.

My first degree completed was a BA English at one university and then I got my second degree, a BA Education at another university.

I was hired to a school and they put me under the BA+45 salary schedule.

I recently finished my MA and I thought I would move to MA+45 but they are saying that only classes completed above a degree count towards the +. However, if that was the case then I'm wondering why my first (non-education) degree counted as +45 when I was hired?

I'm just wondering how this is handled in other districts if you have multiple BA's or MA's.

Thank you for any insight you can provide!

3. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

May 11, 2021

I’d say you are lucky you got it with the first BA degrees.

DH has a degree in computer science and a degree in math. He did not get anything additional for the two degrees. He only got a pay raise with his MAT.

waterfall, a2z and miss-m like this.
  4. JohnWA75

JohnWA75 New Member

May 12, 2021

Thank you for the info! It’s all very confusing. Crazy that someone with multiple degrees in teaching related fields would be paid the same as someone with one degree.

5. waterfall

waterfall Virtuoso

May 12, 2021

I agree that you got lucky the first time. In my district no credits count for those + columns unless they are graduate level courses. If you were in my district you would have only gotten credit for the BA originally, and then it would be just the MA column upon completion of that degree.

6. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

May 12, 2021