Salary guide placement/interviews/job offers

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Amy42886, Jul 12, 2021.

1. Amy42886

Amy42886 Rookie

Jul 12, 2021

Hi all! I have been teaching for 10 years but recently was non renewed for no cause (principal.and I had some issues because he got upset I emailed my supervisor for a question instead of him..petty) and I chose to resign. I was non tenured and so that was it.

I have 10 years in my field ( esl) and multiple certifications and my Masters. I am worried about not having a job in September..BTW I'm in NJ. I interviewed at a small district that wanted to hire me on the spot on Thursday but I had more interviews that day and this week (Mon and Tues). I asked for more time...made something up about needing to speak w partner who is away right now on business) but they wanted answer on Mon.

They want to only put me on step 4 despite the fact that I should be on step 11 this year. They have 18 steps so it would take me another 14 years to get to the top which isn't so high.

I had an interview today district B (Mon) who said they'll let me know by end of day yet I know district a is waiting for an answer. I also have interview w district C tomorrow for a higher paying district. However I can't be sure since I don't know where B or C will place me on the guide.

I hate that all my 10 years of hard work will be reduced to step 4. When I asked to negotiate they said it's a morale and fairness factor.. they say teachers who have been in the district for 10 11 years deserve step 10 11 but new to district has to start always at 4, regardless of experience.