salary concerns

Discussion in 'Montessori' started by cnobert, Dec 17, 2008.

1. cnobert

cnobert New Member

Dec 17, 2008

I'm an aspiring teacher who's considering enrolling in the AMI certification/M.Ed program with Loyola College this fall at the Washington Montessori Institute. I stumbled across Montessori a few months ago and have been reading everything about it that I can get my hands on - right now I'm reading The Absorbent Mind and loving it. I find the material really resonating with me and it has even influenced my plans to pursue a career in education from mainstream to Montessori education. Although I've never experienced Montessori myself (as a student, classroom assistant or even as a parent) I think I'd really enjoy it. I recently volunteered in a kindergarten classroom that utilized Montessori methods and this reinforced my decision.

The one thing that is holding me back from pursuing this path is the concern over the low salary. Of course, I'm not into teaching to get rich. But I am a single, (young) twenty-something for whom paying the rent is still a bit of a concern. I know that salaries can vary widely between different regions but I'd love to hear some honest opinions about this from other Montessori teachers, especially those who have similar situations as me. Should I go forward and not let the money concerns hold me back? What are the real advantages to getting the M.Ed - can I expect any boost in my salary? Is the extra money invested worth it?

Many thanks for chiming in!

3. tracykaliski

tracykaliski Connoisseur

Dec 17, 2008

If you live in an area where there are public Montessori schools, the M.Ed. will definitely make a difference. Most public schools provide a pay differential for people with masters degrees.